top of page

The Regions of Scottish Whisky

Within Scotland there are traditionally 5 distinct regions. In recent time however, there has been recognition of a new region known as the Islands which holds some very unique distillers and flavor profiles. Within the Scotland you can view the Islands as the "sometimes y" of scotch.


  • The lowlands are the southernmost region. Distillers and products from this area are typically lighter in character, with malty and grassy notes and delicate aromas. Famous distillers from this area include: Auchentoshan, Bladnoch and Glenkinchie.


  • The highlands makes up the bulk of the land in Scotland. Distillers in this region typically has dry and sweet scotches. Famous distillers from this area include: Aberfeldy, Dalmore and Glenmorangie.


  • Also nicknamed "Whisky Island" has a high concentration of distillers in a very small area. These whiskies are known for their dryness and strong peaty smokiness. Famous distillers from this area include: Bowmore, Lagavulin and Laphroaig.


  • Speyside contains almost half the total distilleries in Scotland. Speyside whiskies are known for their sweet, fruity, and mellow flavors. Famous distillers from this area include: Glenfiddich, The Glenlivet and The Macallan.


  • This region was officially removed from the whisky-producing regions years ago, but still has recognition within the industry. This region went from over 30 distillers to 3 in recent years. Flavor profiles from this region are typically briney, fruity, with strong vanilla and toffee influences. Famous distillers include: Springbank, Glengyle, and Kilkerran.


  • The Islands has grown in distinction in recent time as it blends flavor profiles of a few areas in Scotland. Typical profiles include brine, black pepper, heather, and honey. Famous distillers from this area include: Arran, Jura, and Talisker.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page